With Tibet to the north, Sikkim to the west and Assam and West Bengal to the south and east, Bhutan is a land-locked country. The total area of the kingdom is about 47,000 square kilometres, about the size of Switzerland. It’s located in the heart of the high Himalayan mountain range.


Land area                 47.000 km2 18.147 square miles

Forest area                72.5 %

Altitude                        between 240 and 7.541metres above sea level

Population                  2.1 million

Ethnicity                      50% Bhote, 35% ethnic Nepalese, 15% indigenous/migrant tribes

Language                   official language “Dzongkha”, English widely spoken, also 19 other languages & dialects

Religion                      Vajrayana stream of Mahayana Buddhism (Tantric Buddhism) 75%, Indian & Nepalese versions of Hinduism 25%

Currency                     Ngultrum (equal to Indian Rupee)

Capital                        Thimphu

Government               constitutional democratic monarchy

Royalty                        King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuk

Prime Minister           Lyonpo Jigme Thinley

National Tree             Cypress

National Bird              Raven

National Flower         Blue Poppy

National Sport            Archery

National Animal         Takin